PPRA: Over half of State contractors remain hidden

A new report by the Public Procurement Regulatory Authority shows that of the 25,994 contract awards reported during the year, beneficial ownership information was disclosed for only 11,175 contracts, representing 43 percent of the total...
✨ Key Highlights
Over 57 percent of government contracts awarded in the 2024/25 financial year did not disclose beneficial ownership information, highlighting significant transparency issues in Kenya's public procurement.
- 57 percent of contract awards lacked beneficial ownership disclosure, meaning only 43 percent (11,175 out of 25,994) complied.
- The Public Procurement Regulatory Authority (PPRA) published a report detailing these findings.
- Only 316 out of 411 procuring entities reported on beneficial ownership, impacting transparency as per Article 227 of the Constitution.
Continue Reading
Read the complete article from Capital Business
Part of the Day's Coverage
PPRA flags 20 State Agencies for frustrating procurement audits - August 2026
The Public Procurement Regulatory Authority (PPRA) has flagged 20 public entities, including Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH) and four county governments, for failing to cooperate with mandatory procurement audits. Over 57 percent of government contracts awarded in the 2024/25 financial year did not disclose beneficial ownership information, highlighting significant transparency issues in Kenya's public procurement. The Director-General of the Competition Authority of Kenya (CAK), David Kemei, has identified cartels and unscrupulous businesspeople as the primary threat to Kenya's business environment.


Kenya's news, briefed daily
Daily Briefs with audio, your topics, and breaking stories.




Take Kenya's news with you
Breaking stories, daily briefs, and the topics you follow - on your phone, free.














